​​​​​​​
​​

NIH Staff Contacts 

Potential applicants are strongly encouraged to discuss their proposed projects with an NIH Institute or Center (IC) representative prior to preparing an application. NIH representatives can provide guidance regarding 1) the suitability of the project towards supporting the mission of the IC, 2) the most appropriate funding mechanism for the proposed work, and 3) whether or not the IC would encourage submittal.
 
All of the announcements that are listed above have lists of NIH review, program, and grants management staff. If your proposed ideas does not fit within the context of the above FOAs, we suggest contacting some of the NIH program staff members linked to below to identify the best way to submit your application.​

R01 Funding Contacts

    ICContact Information
    National Cancer Institute (NCI) Contact Name: Dr. Jerry Li
    Contact Email: Jerry.Li@nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-435-5226
    National Eye Institute (NEI) Contact Name: Dr. Michael Steinmetz
    Contact Email: steinmem@nei.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-451-2020
    National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Contact Name: Dr. Albert Lee
    Contact Email: alee@mail.nih.gov
    Contact Phone:
    National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) Contact Name: Valentina Di Francesco
    Contact Email: vdifrancesco@mail.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-496-7531
    National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) Contact Name: Dr. John Matochik
    Contact Email: jmatochi@mail.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-451-7319
    National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) Contact Name: Dr. Gayle Lester
    Contact Email: lester1@mail.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-594-3511
    National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) Contact Name: Dr. Andrew Weitz
    Contact Email: andrew.weitz@nih.gov
    Contact Phone:
    National Institute of Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) Contact Name: Dr. Roger Miller
    Contact Email: millerr@nidcd.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-402-3458
    National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) Contact Name: Dr. Lillian Shum
    Contact Email: ShumL@nidcr.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-594-0618
    National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) Contact Name: Dr. David Balshaw
    Contact Email: Balshaw@niehs.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 919-541-2448
    National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Contact Name: Dr. Paul Brazhnik
    Contact Email: brazhnikp@nigms.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-451-6446
    National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Contact Name: Susan Gregurick
    Contact Email: susan.gregurick@nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-451-6446
    National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Contact Name: Dr. Greg Farber
    Contact Email: farberg@mail.nih.gov
    Contact Phone:
    National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Contact Name: Dr. James Gnadt
    Contact Email: gnadtjw@ninds.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-496-0012
    National Institute on Aging (NIA) Contact Name: Dr. Xiaoming Wang
    Contact Email: xiaoming.wang@nih.gov
    Contact Phone:
    National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Contact Name: Dr. Joni Rutter
    Contact Email: jrutter@nida.nih.gov
    Contact Phone: 301-435-0298
    National Institutes of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Contact Name: Dr. Jennie Larkin
    Contact Email: jennie.larkin@nih.gov
    Contact Phone:

    ​​